We wandered in to the local town of Saint Genix sur Guiers, 500 meters down river to see what we could find. The river, somewhat lower than it was yesterday passes under a bridge, half way across are the signs for a change of Department from the Savoie where we are to the l'Isère.
The town, celebrates the life of Louis Mandrin, the French Robin hood who was finally executed, at the age of 30 years old in 1755, with a mural depicting him covering the side of a house next to the river Guiers. The next amazing fact was that, just 250 years ago, the town was on the border of France and the country of Piedmont-Sardinia and the seat of the House of Savoy from 1720 when Sardinia was taken from the Spanish, until the Kingdom of Italy was formed in 1861 on the 17th March.
With a renewed respect for this tiny town, we headed up in to the old town, and the Hotel de Ville, the Town Hall, a majestic building in the heart of the old town surrounded by old buildings and their beautiful roof lines.Walking up the Rue du Faubourg, an ancient french name for the suburbs, as in leading to the area outside the fortified area of the town, where we found the old town gate way, an arch over the road, with its huge metal hinges where the gates that were shut every night used to hang.Turning left we followed the old town wall, of which nothing obvious exists to this day, until we turned left again in to th Rue de l'Eglise (Road of the CHurch).The square, just behind the Chancel of the church was named after one of the towns famous people Pierre Marie Descôtes
(b.8th July 1877) who pioneered a machine for detecting Earthquakes. Most of his machines seem to have been installed in Bolivia.
We walked down a narrow alleyway between the Church (Eglise de Saint-Genix-sur-Guiers) and entered by the front door. The church, large, but very plainly decorated and beautiful in its simplicity, with beautiful rich stained glass windows and cool interior was welcoming. The organ pipes stood behind the alter, below the main window and facing the round window at the other end of the aisle.We then followed the Rue de Convent to its natural resting place, the convent of the Bernardine Nuns, situated at the edge of the town.We then returned to the town and after a walk across the bridge and back returned to the campsite passed the town gardens, filled with colourand the wagtail with her chicks sitting in the middle of the river.